Top News

Assembly Election 2021: EC Announces Three-Phased Assam Assembly Polls From March 27

Mumbai: The Election Commission of India announced on Friday that Assam would go to the Assembly elections in three phases starting from March 27. Votes will be counted on 2 May.

Addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said: “In Assam, elections will be held in three phases. The first phase of notification is on March 2 and elections will be held in 47 seats in 12 districts. The last date of nomination March 9 and the date of poll is March 27. In the second phase, 39 constituencies in 13 districts will go to the polls on April 1. Forty Assembly constituencies in 12 districts to go on polls on April 6. Votes will be counted on May 2.”

With the announcement of the election schedule, the model code of conduct has come into force in the state. Arora said, “The Model Code of Conduct came into force immediately after the announcement of election dates. The Commission has made adequate arrangements to ensure effective implementation of the MCC guidelines.”

Also Read: Assembly Election 2021: Voting For Tamil Nadu On April 6

Ashok Kumar has been appointed as Special Police Supervisor for Assam. “In Assam in 2016, polling stations were 24,890 and in 2021. There will be 33,530. The percentage increase in polling stations is 35.71 per cent. Assam’s term is till May 31, 2021. The number of Assembly seats is 126. Reserved seats for SC is eight and for STs, it is 16,” Arora said.

In 2016, the BJP created history and ended the 15-year rule of the Congress, which formed the first government in the state. The BJP and its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) won a combined 86 seats in the 126-member Assam Assembly. BJP got 60 seats, AGP 14 and BPF 12 seats. Under the leadership of Tarun Gogoi, the three-time Congress could manage to win only 26 seats.

Also Read: Assembly Election 2021: Kerala Goes To Polls On 6th April

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won nine of the 14 parliamentary seats, while its allies BPF and BPF won the vacant seats. On the other hand, Congress got three seats and the AIUDF and an Independent got one seat each.

The Central Armed Police Forces have started moving to four polling stations and one Union Territory – Tamil Nadu, Assam, Puducherry, West Bengal and Kerala to ensure peaceful conduct of the assembly elections.

Also Read: Assembly Polls 2021: Puducherry To Vote On April 6

According to official communication, accessed by ANI, a total of 45 CAPFs companies will be deployed in Tamil Nadu, 40 in Assam, 10 in Puducherry, 125 in West Bengal and 30 companies in Kerala.

Follow us on TwitterInstagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and interesting stories.

Show More



Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker