India Announce Their Squad For Test Series Against Sri Lanka; Pujara, Rahane Dropped

Follow us on google News

Mumbai: India has announced their squad for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka, with senior players Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane being dropped from the team. Also Read: Rohit Sharma Named Team India’s New Full-Time Test Captain

All India senior selection committee chairman Chetan Sharma said Washington Sundar and KL Rahul could be dropped from the Sri Lanka T20 and Test series unless they recover quickly.

Ravichandran Ashwin is also in fitness. Chetan Sharma said that Axar Patel is still recovering in rehab and may be fit for the second Test.

Earlier this week, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a new schedule for India’s upcoming home series against Sri Lanka.

The tour was to begin with a two-match Test, but now it will start with T20, the first match will be played on February 24 at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow.

The second and third T20Is will be held in Dharamsala on February 26 and 27. After the T20I series, the teams will play two Tests, which are a part of the 2021-23 ICC World Test Championship cycle.

The first Test will be played in Mohali from March 4 to 8, while the second Test will be played in Bengaluru from March 12 to 16.

The first Test will be the 100th Test match of former captain Virat Kohli, while the second Test will be of day-night.

India’s Test squad for SL series: Rohit Sharma (C), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin (fitness), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep, Jasprit Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Sourabh Kumar.

Follow us on TwitterInstagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and interesting stories.

Show More

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker