Jay Shah Announces INR 125 Crore Prize Money For Team India For Winning T20 World Cup 2024

Mumbai: Team India triumphed over South Africa in a thrilling final by seven runs on Saturday to win the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, their first T20 World Cup title in 17 years. In celebration of this historic achievement, BCCI secretary Jay Shah announced a monumental prize money of Rs 125 crores for the victorious team.

“I am pleased to announce prize money of Rs 125 crores for Team India for winning the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The team has showcased exceptional talent, determination, and sportsmanship throughout the tournament. Congratulations to all the players, coaches, and support staff for this outstanding achievement!” Shah posted on ‘X’.

This sum is over six times the Rs 20.42 crores received from the ICC for the victory.
In a heartfelt statement to the media, Shah expressed immense pride and admiration for the team’s remarkable achievements.

“Today, I stand before you, along with all of India, filled with immense pride and admiration for Team India’s remarkable achievements on the global stage. This team truly embodies a rising, vibrant, and resilient India, asserting its rightful place in the world of cricket,” Shah said.

He credited the BCCI’s relentless focus on grassroots development and talent cultivation for the team’s success.

“I am delighted that, as the governing body of the sport in India, the BCCI has played a part in this team’s success through our relentless focus on identifying, grooming, and nurturing the right talent. Our commitment to grassroots development and talent cultivation is bearing fruit in ways that fill us all with immense pride.”

Shah also praised the leadership of Rohit Sharma, under whom the team remained unbeaten throughout the tournament.

“Under the exceptional leadership of Rohit Sharma, this team has shown remarkable resolve and resilience, becoming the first team in the history of the ICC T20 World Cup to win the tournament unbeaten. They have faced and silenced their critics with stellar performances time and again. Their journey has been nothing short of inspirational, and today, they join the ranks of the greats, achieving something truly special that brings immense pride and joy to all Indians.”

He highlighted the dedication and teamwork of the players, particularly mentioning Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and other key contributors.

“It fills me with great pride to speak about such an extraordinary team. However, it is this team that has made us all proud with their dedication, hard work, and unyielding spirit. Led by Rohit Sharma, and ably assisted by Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and others, they have fulfilled the dreams and aspirations of 1.4 billion Indians.”

The victory ended an 11-year ICC title drought since India’s Champions Trophy win in England in 2013 and was their first T20 World Cup title since the inaugural edition in 2007 in South Africa.

The win was bittersweet as senior stars Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Ravindra Jadeja announced their retirements from the T20I format shortly after their historic win, marking the end of an era in Indian cricket.

Follow us on Twitter, Google News, and Instagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and exciting stories.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button