Ravindra Jadeja Announces Retirement from T20 Internationals After India’s Historic ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Victory

Mumbai: In a significant development for Indian cricket, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja announced his retirement from T20 Internationals on his official social media handle following India’s triumphant ICC T20 World Cup 2024 victory on Saturday. Also Read: India Clinches Second ICC T20 World Cup Title, Ending 11-Year ICC Trophy Drought

“With a heart full of gratitude, I bid farewell to T20 internationals. Like a steadfast horse galloping with pride, I’ve always given my best for my country and will continue to do so in other formats. Winning the T20 World Cup was a dream come true, a pinnacle of my T20 International career. Thank you for the memories, the cheers, and the unwavering support,” Jadeja posted on Instagram.

Jadeja, who made his T20I debut in February 2009 against Sri Lanka, has been an integral part of India’s T20 setup. Over his illustrious career, he played 74 matches, taking 54 wickets at an average of 29.85 and scoring 515 runs at a strike rate of 127.16. His standout performances include his best bowling figures of 3/15 against Scotland in the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup and a crucial knock of 46 runs off 29 balls against England in 2022. Also Read: Virat Kohli Announces Retirement From T20 Cricket After Winning T20 World Cup 2024

The 35-year-old’s retirement announcement comes on the heels of India’s historic ICC T20 World Cup win, which ended the nation’s 11-year-long ICC trophy drought. India clinched their second ICC T20 World Cup title by defeating South Africa in a thrilling final at Barbados, winning by seven runs. Also Read: Rohit Sharma Bids Farewell To T20I Cricket As A World Cup Winning Captain

Final Match Highlights:

India won the toss and opted to bat first. Despite a shaky start, being reduced to 34/3, a counter-attacking partnership between Virat Kohli and Axar Patel steadied the innings.

Kohli scored 76 runs, while Patel contributed 47 off 31 balls, including one four and four sixes. A late surge by Shivam Dube, who scored 27 off 16 balls, helped India post a competitive total of 176/7 in their 20 overs. Keshav Maharaj (2/23) and Anrich Nortje (2/26) were the pick of the bowlers for South Africa.

In response, South Africa’s chase of 177 runs started poorly, being reduced to 12/2.

However, a 58-run partnership between Quinton de Kock (39 off 31 balls) and Tristan Stubbs (31 off 21 balls) revived their hopes. Heinrich Klaasen’s explosive 52 off 27 balls further threatened to tilt the match in South Africa’s favor. Nevertheless, a brilliant display of death bowling by Arshdeep Singh (2/18), Jasprit Bumrah (2/20), and Hardik Pandya (3/20) restricted South Africa to 169/8, securing India’s victory.

Virat Kohli was awarded the ‘Player of the Match’ for his stellar performance. This victory marks India’s first ICC title since the Champions Trophy in 2013, making them the first team to win the ICC T20 World Cup undefeated.

Jadeja’s retirement marks the end of an era for Indian T20 cricket, leaving behind a legacy of memorable performances and contributions. His departure will be felt by fans and teammates alike, as the team looks forward to building on their recent success in future tournaments.

Follow us on Twitter, Google News, and Instagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and exciting stories.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button