Ready For ‘Responsibility And Challenge’ As Vice-Captain Of India’s Limited-Overs Team: KL Rahul

Mumbai: India and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) wicketkeeper-batsman KL Rahul is confident of taking ‘responsibility and challenge’ as the Indian white-ball vice-captain for the Australian tour next month.

Rahul is the highest run-scorer in the ongoing Indian Premier League. He also led KXIP and under his captaincy, Punjab is currently ranked fourth in the points table and is looking to make it to the playoffs.

In 12 games so far, Rahul has accumulated 595 runs with an average of 59.50 including a ton and five fifties.

Also Read: Won’t Be Surprised If Dhoni Continues To Lead CSK Next Season: Gautam Gambhir

“KXIP’s official website quoted KL Rahul saying, “This is a very happy and proud moment. I was not expecting it, but I am very happy. I am ready for responsibility and challenge and I will try to do my best for my team.”

“I am looking forward to the upcoming tour but the 2-3 weeks before that are very important. The next 2-3 months will be very important. I am thinking about one day at a time, not too far ahead.” “He added.

Also Read: IPL 13: Disappointing Results But Many Things Did ‘Really Well’ During The Match Says RCB’s Coach Simon Katich

The Indian selectors announced the squad for the ODIs, T20Is and Tests against Australia on Monday.

India T20I Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy.

India ODI Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

Also Read: Our Best Player Is Coming Back; Bangladesh Selector As Shakib’s Ban Ends

India Test Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj.

India and Australia will play three ODIs, three T20Is, and four Tests against each other. The Test series will be part of the World Test Championship.

India and Australia are currently ranked first and two respectively in the World Test Championship standings.

Follow us on TwitterInstagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and interesting stories.

Show More



Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker