SKM Wins Big In Sikkim Assembly Election 2024

Mumbai: The Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) has successfully returned to power for a second consecutive term in Sikkim, winning 21 seats in the 32-member assembly, thereby securing a majority, according to election officials.

The SKM, under the leadership of Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang, is also leading in 10 additional seats, solidifying its dominant position in the Himalayan state.

Chief Minister Tamang emerged victorious from the Rhenock constituency, securing a win by over 7,000 votes. He is also leading in the Soreng Chakung constituency, demonstrating his strong political influence and widespread support across the state.

In a significant setback, the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF), which had ruled Sikkim for 25 years until 2019, managed to secure only one seat. SDF president and former chief minister Pawan Kumar Chamling faced a major defeat, losing in both constituencies he contested.

The assembly elections were conducted simultaneously with the first phase of the Lok Sabha polls on April 19, marking a crucial electoral event for the state. The SKM’s victory reinforces its political mandate and sets the stage for continued governance under Tamang’s leadership.

With this decisive win, the SKM aims to further its agenda and developmental initiatives in Sikkim, building on its previous term’s achievements and addressing the aspirations of the Sikkimese people.

Follow us on Twitter, Google News, and Instagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and exciting stories.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button