West Bengal BJP Will Not Contest Rajya Sabha Bypoll: Suvendu Adhikari

Mumbai: BJP will not field a candidate for the upcoming Rajya Sabha by-poll on October 4 in West Bengal, Leader of the Opposition Suvendu Adhikari Monday said.

Last week, the TMC had nominated Sushmita Dev, who had recently joined the party after quitting the Congress, as its candidate for the by-polls.

The bypoll was to be held after TMC leader Manas Bhunia vacated the Rajya Sabha seat following his victory in the assembly elections from Sabang in West Midnapore.

“BJP will not nominate any candidate for Rajya Sabha bypoll due in West Bengal. The outcome is predetermined. Our focus is to make sure unelected CM to be unelected once again. Jai Ma Kali,” Suvendu Adhikari, leader of opposition in West Bengal assembly, tweeted.

The officials, who defeated Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in Nandigram during the April assembly elections, we’re talking about contesting the by-election from the Bhabnipur seat in Kolkata. Banerjee will have to win a by-election to become a member of the assembly to continue in the chair.

Earlier on August 9, the BJP unit in the state had not fielded its candidate for the bypoll to the Rajya Sabha seat, paving the way for TMC candidate Jawahar Sarkar to be elected unopposed.

TMC has 11 out of 16 Rajya Sabha seats, Congress has two and CPI(M) has one.

Last week, TMC leader Arpita Ghosh had resigned from the Upper House on instructions of the party high command. The seat is now vacant.

Follow us on TwitterInstagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and interesting stories. 

Show More

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker