Top News

What Were BJP’s Surprise Wins And Losses In Lok Sabha Election?

Mumbai: In the recently concluded Indian general elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured its third consecutive term, leading the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to victory. However, the BJP fell short of the coveted halfway mark of 272 seats in the Lok Sabha, signaling a shift in the political landscape.

The NDA clinched 293 seats, while the opposition Congress-led INDIA bloc managed to secure 233 seats. This marked a significant contrast to the 2019 results, where the NDA swept to power with a commanding 353 seats, 303 of which were secured by the BJP alone.

Surprise Gains for BJP

In Kerala, the BJP made historic strides by securing its first-ever parliamentary seat in the state, with actor-politician Suresh Gopi emerging victorious from the Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency. The party’s vote share also surged, reaching 16.67%, a substantial increase from previous elections.

In Andhra Pradesh, the BJP formed a strategic alliance with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena Party, resulting in the party winning three out of six contested seats with a notable vote share of 13.07%.

Odisha witnessed a landslide victory for the BJP, as it captured 20 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats, signalling a significant shift in the state’s political dynamics. Additionally, the BJP secured a majority in the Odisha Assembly, ending Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s 24-year reign.

Surprise Losses for BJP

In Maharashtra, the BJP faced setbacks as its tally dwindled to 17 seats out of 48, a decline from its previous performance in 2019 when it secured 23 seats. The opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA), comprising the Congress, Shiv Sena, and NCP, emerged victorious, winning 30 seats in total.

Uttar Pradesh, a stronghold of the BJP since 2017, witnessed a shift in fortunes as the party’s seat count decreased to 33 from 62 in 2019. The Samajwadi Party (SP) emerged as a major contender, securing 37 seats in alliance with the Congress, which won six seats.

In West Bengal, where the BJP had high hopes for significant gains, the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) emerged victorious with 29 seats, while the BJP secured 12. The loss of two Union ministers and the former state president in key constituencies dealt a blow to the BJP’s prospects.

Following the results, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee of West Bengal demanded Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s resignation, citing a loss of credibility. “These results have shown that Modi has lost all credibility and he should immediately resign,” she asserted during a press conference at Kalighat.

The mixed results in various states reflect a shifting political landscape in India, with both gains and losses for the BJP, setting the stage for dynamic changes in the country’s political sphere.

Follow us on Twitter, Google News, and Instagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and exciting stories.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button