Women’s T20 To Be A Part Of Birmingham’s CWG

Mumbai: The Commonwealth Games Federation and ICC announced on Tuesday that cricket will once again be a part of Common Wealth Games, along with Women’s T20 for the 2022 edition in Birmingham. It is the first time after 1998, the cricket will be included in CWG.

The first time when cricket was included CWG was in the year 1998 when men played in Kuala Lamour, where South Africa finished on the top of the podium. The CGF President Dame Louise Martin said, “Today is a historic day and we are delighted to welcome the sport of cricket back to the commonwealth games.”

“This is a truly historic moment for women’s cricket and for the global cricket community, who were united in their support of this bid,” said the Chief Executive of International Cricket Council, Manu Sawhney.

The 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth games will take place from 27th July 2022 to 7th August 2022 and the cricket competition will be played between eight international countries. According to reports, all eight match days will be held at Edgbaston cricket ground where England’s victory in World cup semifinal (men’s) over Australia had taken place.

According to the reports, the ICC and England and Wales cricket board (ECB) had submitted a bid to include women’s cricket in CWG in November in the executive board meeting. The ECB chief executive officer said, “We are delighted that women’s T20 cricket will be a part of Birmingham 2022 an even that represents the biggest female and para-sports programme in CWG history. Today’s landmark announcement is another indication of the extremely bright future for women’s cricket.”

ICC to said that it was delighted and honoured that the CWG association voted to include women’s T20 cricket at Birmingham games.

Follow us on TwitterInstagram and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and interesting stories.

Show More


Related Articles

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker