12 Of 17 Congress MLAs Including Former CM Mukul Sangma Join TMC In Meghalaya

Mumbai: In a major setback to the Congress in Meghalaya, 12 of its 18 MLAs, including former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Wednesday.

With the crossover of MLAs, TMC has become the major opposition party in the state, news agency PTI quoted a senior party leader as saying.

Mamata Banerjee’s party, which is trying to expand its footprint and enter national politics, was in touch with Congress MLAs from the northeastern state.

Sangma, the leader of the opposition in the state assembly, was upset with the top Congress leadership for allegedly being sidelined. He had also expressed displeasure over the appointment of Lok Sabha MP Vincent H Pala as the party’s state unit president.

In 2012, the Meghalaya State Trinamool Congress was formally launched with the intention of contesting 35 of the 60 assembly seats in the state.

On Tuesday, two prominent Congress leaders Kirti Azad and Ashok Tanwar joined the TMC in the presence of Banerjee.

Follow us on TwitterInstagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and interesting stories. 

Show More

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker