Top News

Nitish Kumar Takes Oath As Bihar CM For The 9th Time With BJP’s Support

Mumbai: On Sunday, Nitish Kumar became the Bihar Chief Minister for a record-tying ninth time. Eight people, including some leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), took the oath of office as ministers in Nitish Kumar’s new Bihar Cabinet. These ministers are:
• JD(U)’s Bijendra Prasad Yadav took oath as a cabinet minister
• JD(U)’s Vijay Kumar Chaudhary took oath as a cabinet minister
• JD(U)’s Shrawon Kumar took oath as a cabinet minister
• BJP’s Vijay Sinha took oath as a cabinet minister
• BJP’s Samrat Choudhary took oath as a cabinet minister
• BJP’s Dr Prem Kumar took oath as a cabinet minister
• Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular)’s Santosh Kumar Suman took oath as a minister
• Independent MLA Sumit Kumar Singh took oath as a minister

The new government’s swearing-in ceremony was held at Patna, Bihar’s Raj Bhavan. Chiefs of the BJP and the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), Chirag Paswan, were also in attendance.

Earlier on Sunday, Nitish Kumar tendered his resignation as the Chief Minister of Bihar. After accepting the resignation, the governor appointed him as the acting chief minister.

According to ANI, during the meeting at Raj Bhavan, Kumar informed the Governor that his party, the JD(U), has made the decision to break its links to the Mahagathbandhan in the state. Nitish Kumar, in coalition with the Left and Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD), formed the Bihar government in 2022. The alliance was referred to as “Mahagathbandhan.”

Nitish Kumar has now made the decision to leave this Mahagathbandhan and rejoin the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which is led by the BJP. The 2024 Lok Sabha Elections were shortly before the decision was made. Nitish Kumar was a crucial part of the Opposition INDIA group, which is anticipated to be impacted by this change.

Follow us on Twitter, Google News, and Instagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and exciting stories.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button