Top News

Which Dignitaries Were Conferred Bharat Ratna By President Murmu Today?

Mumbai: President Droupadi Murmu on Saturday posthumously conferred the prestigious Bharat Ratna award upon four distinguished individuals during a ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The recipients include former PM Chaudhary Charan Singh, PV Narasimha Rao, former Bihar CM Karpoori Thakur and agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan. Veteran BJP leader LK Advani will receive the award at his home tomorrow

According to sources, President Murmu will visit senior BJP leader LK Advani at his home and present him with the coveted honor. They said that this decision was made in light of veteran BJP leader Advani’s failing health.

The grandson of former prime minister Charan Singh, Jayant Singh, accepted the award from him, and the son of PV Narasimha Rao, PV Prabhakar Rao, accepted the one from his father.

The award for MS Swaminathan’s father was accepted by Nitya Rao, his daughter, and the award for Karpoori Thakur was accepted by Ram Nath Thakur, his son. Among the dignitaries present were LoP Mallikarjun Kharge, BJP National President JP Nadda, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Congress leader.

Narsimha Rao, a farmer and advocate who was born in Karimnagar, Telangana, on June 28, 1921, entered politics and held a number of significant positions. He served as Andhra Pradesh’s Minister of Law and Information from 1962 to 1964, Law and Endowments from 1964 to 1967, Health and Medicine from 1967 to 1971, and Education from 1968 to 1971. From 1971 to 1973, he served as Andhra Pradesh’s chief minister, and from 1975 to 1976, he was the All India Congress Committee’s general secretary.

Swaminathan, who has a background in plant genetics, is known as the scientific head of India’s green revolution movement because of his substantial contributions to the country’s agriculture industry. His contributions have played a significant role in India’s agricultural revival. Advani, who was born on November 8, 1927, in Karachi, Pakistan, has been the party’s president for the longest, having held the position since the party’s founding in 1980.

He concluded an almost three-decade career in parliament by serving as Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s home minister and then deputy prime minister (1999–2004). Karpoori Thakur was born in 1924 into the Nai Samaj, one of the most disadvantaged groups in India. His political career was distinguished by his resolute dedication to the underprivileged segments of society, making him an exceptional leader. In addition to being the Chief Minister of Bihar, he played a significant role in the fight against injustice and social prejudice. His dedication to affirmative action provided chances and representation to the underprivileged, marginalized, and impoverished segments of the nation.

In the Meerut district of Uttar Pradesh, Chaudhary Charan Singh was born in 1902 into a middle-class peasant family in Noorpur. After relocating to Meerut in 1929, he became a member of the Congress. He was initially elected from Chhaprauli to the UP Legislative Assembly in 1937. He later served as the constituency’s representative in 1946, 1952, 1962, and 1967. In 1946, he was appointed Parliamentary Secretary in the government of Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant. He held positions in a number of departments, including Revenue, Justice, Public Health, and Medicine.

He was placed in charge of the Departments of Justice and Information after being named Cabinet Minister in the State in June 1951. Later, in 1952, he was appointed to the position of Minister of Revenue and Agriculture in the Sampurnanand Cabinet. He was in charge of the Department of Revenue and Transport when he resigned in April 1959.

Follow us on Twitter, Google News, and Instagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and exciting stories.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button