Yusuf Pathan Joins TMC, To Contest Lok Sabha Elections From Berhampore

Mumbai: Former Team India cricketer Yusuf Pathan has joined Trinamool Congress (TMC) and he will be fighting Lok Sabha elections from West Bengal’s Berhampore constituency. Yusuf had retired from all forms of cricket at the age of 38 in 2021. He played for KKR from 2011 to 2017.

TMC on Sunday announced its list of 42 Lok Sabha candidates

Pathan, who is standing in for the Trinamool Congress (TMC), is following the party’s plan as it prepares to launch the ‘Jonogorjon Sabha’ campaign in 2024 at Kolkata’s famous Brigade Parade Grounds. At this event, the TMC announced their slate of 42 candidates, laying the groundwork for the crucial election campaign.

Leading the charge for the approaching elections was TMC general secretary Abhishek Banerjee, along with West Bengal state minister Mamata Banerjee. Together with a large crowd of six to eight lakh supporters and a number of block-level leaders from different districts, the party secretary gave the rally speech. Their arrival energized the crowd and set the stage for an exciting future political campaign.

In addition, Kirti Azad, a longtime TMC member and former Indian cricketer, will run from West Bengal. Former Indian cricket star Manoj Tiwary, who is currently an MLA in Shibpur, Howrah, has joined the TMC’s ranks of supporters. The Baroda native is the most recent member of this group, which is growing as more cricket players join the TMC and enter politics, indicating their goals beyond the game.

Yusuf Pathan’s longstanding association with Kolkata

Due to his time spent playing with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), an IPL franchise, Pathan has a long history with both Kolkata and West Bengal. The team also won two championship titles, in 2012 and 2014, while he was with Kolkata.   On May 24, 2014, one of his many brilliant knocks made history by becoming the second-fastest 50-run scorer in the IPL at the time, doing so in an incredible 15 balls. Thanks to Pathan’s spectacular performance, KKR secured a respectable second place in the league table and went on to win the season championship under Gautam Gambhir’s guidance.

Follow us on Twitter, Google News, and Instagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and exciting stories.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button