Top News

African Union Becomes Permanent Member Of G20 As Summit Starts In Delhi

Mumbai: The African Union became a permanent member of G20, as the first session of the G20 Summit started in Delhi’s ‘Bharat Mandapam’. During his opening remarks at the session, PM Narendra Modi invited the President of the Union of Comoros and the Chairperson of the African Union (AU), Azali Assoumani, to take his seat.  Also Read: Pic Shows ‘Bharat’ Written On Nameplate As PM Modi Delivers Speech At G20 Summit

“In keeping with the sentiment of sabka saath (with everyone), India had proposed that the African Union should be given permanent membership of the G20. I believe we all are in agreement on this proposal. With your agreement (he banged the gavel thrice),” Modi said.

“Before we start our work, I invite the AU president as a permanent member to take his position,” he said.

India has firmly established itself in recent years as a leading voice for the concerns, challenges, and ambitions of the Global South, notably the African continent.

Especially in promoting the admission of the African Union as a G20 member, Prime Minister Modi has been in the forefront of these efforts. By writing to the G20 leaders in June and pleading with them to grant the AU full membership at the New Delhi summit, Modi took the initiative.

A few weeks later, the suggestion was incorporated into the summit’s official drafting communiqué. This addition took place at the third G20 Sherpas gathering, which took place in July in Hampi, Karnataka.

A prominent organisation with 55 member states that together represent the countries on the African continent is the African Union (AU).

In 1999, the G20 was formed in response to many economic crises throughout the world.

Together, the G20 members represent more than 75% of global commerce, almost two-thirds of the world’s population, and around 85% of the world’s GDP.

In addition to the recent addition, the G20 is made up of Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union (EU).

Follow us on Twitter, Google News, and Instagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and exciting stories. 

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button