IPL 2021: RCB Appoint Sanjay Bangar As Batting Consultant

Talking about Bangar's role in the team, Mike said that the 48-year-old Bangar will join the team in its pre-season

Mumbai: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Wednesday announced the appointment of Sanjay Bangar as the new batting consultant ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021.

Bangar has a vast experience of being the coach of national teams and IPL teams in the past. Bangar will join a prolific coaching staff which already has Sreedharan Sriram as batting and spin bowling coach and Simon Katich as head coach.

“There was a delay in adding Sanjay Banger’s experienced coach to our current coaching team led by Head Coach Simon Katich,” RCB Director of Cricket Operations Mike Hewson said in an official release.

Talking about Bangar’s role in the team, Mike said that the 48-year-old Bangar will join the team in its pre-season.

“Sanjay Bangar’s role as batting advisor will be working with our current squad in the camps in Bengaluru to be part of our pre-IPL camp.”

“At RCB we are now very fortunate that Sanjay has included Sriram and Simon as batting coaches, who can provide great knowledge and experience to our playing squad throughout the IPL,” Mike said, adding that the IPL to be held in Chennai Is in India for auction. On February 18.

Earlier, RCB announced that they had decided to retain 12 members of their IPL 2020 team and the likes of Aaron Finch and Moin Ali were from the team.

The likes of Virat Kohli, Abraham de Villiers and Yuzvendra Chahal will appear for RCB this season.

RCB’s retained players: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Yuzvendra Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal, Washington Sundar, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Adam Zampa, Shahbaz Ahmed, Josh Philippe, Kane Richardson, Pawan Deshpande. Released players: Aaron Finch, Gurkeerat Mann, Chris Morris, Shivam Dube, Dale Steyn, Parthiv Patel, Isuru Udana, Umesh Yadav, and Pawan Negi.

RCB made it to the playoffs of the IPL 2020 season but lost in the Eliminator against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Virat Kohli-led side has not won the IPL title even once, but this side has made it to the finals three times.

Follow us on TwitterInstagram, and like us on Facebook for the latest updates and interesting stories.

Show More



Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker